“WHITE SOLSTICE” (poem)-“SNOW IN THE OLD CITY OF JERUSALEM” (painting) by Helen Bar-Lev, Israel

 

 ” SNOW IN THE OLD CITY OF JERUSALEM “

BOOK, snow in Old City J-m

White Solstice

If I were a sailor
I’d write a poem
about the forlorn song
of fog horns

If I were a pilot
I’d write about
the blinding whiteness
of clouds

As an Inuit
I’d describe the snow
in a thousand words
of white

If I were an elf
I’d tell about
the gossamer wings
of fairies

But I am a woman
white of hair
remembering past winters
on this solstice day

C 12.2014 Helen Bar-Lev

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

